Carmin Blomberg

Carmin Blomberg

Tansi, Carmin Blomberg, nisîthikâson, Peter Ballantyne (Bear) Nêhiyaw Nation, Pelican Narrows Saskatchewan, ochi nitha.
(Hello, Carmin Blomberg is my name, Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation, Pelican Narrows Saskatchewan is where I’m from).

I am Woodland Cree and Norwegian Sweden Jewish through my father, and French and Scottish through my spirit mother. It is important for me to acknowledge myself as a whole, with all my ancestral backgrounds, especially as my role in reconciliation and an Indigenous Settler. As an Indigenous Settler; in my accountability as a visitor who does not intend on leaving anytime soon, I acknowledge my privilege of being born and raised on the lək̓ʷəŋən, Esquimalt, and W̱SÁNEĆ territories of the Coast Salish Peoples.

I identify as Two Spirit and my pronouns are She/Her/They/Them. I am an artist who focuses on painting, drawing, beading, sewing, and carving teachings taught from my Kwikwasut’inuxw Haxwa’mis brother from Gilford Island. My Kwakwaka'wakw siblings offered my initial understandings to Indigenous cultural teachings and continue to guide and support me as I reclaim my Woodland Cree ancestry. I am grateful for their guidance and unconditional love.
I am also a student in my final semester of my Bachelor of Social Work Indigenous Specialization Degree at the University of Victoria. I work with Youth, Elders, and Knowledge Keepers and as a Youth Board Member in community development projects centered on healing colonial violence and reclaiming identity.